Ecuador and the Galapagos Islands

Provinces of Ecuador

 Ecuador  >> Provinces of Ecuador

Provinces of Ecuador

Province of Ecuador, PichinchaEcuador is located in northwestern South America, straddling the equator. Ecuador shares its northern border with Colombia and its southern and eastern borders with Peru. The Pacific Ocean lies to the west Ecuador. The presence of the Andes, maritime currents, and the Amazon Rainforest give rise to significant variations in the country’s climate. Geographically, the nation can be divided into four distinct regions: the Coast, the Highlands, the Amazon, and the Galapagos Islands. Politically, It is divided into 22 provinces. Ecuador's total area is 256,370* square kilometers and its population is over 12.5 million inhabitants. In the eastern part of the country, commonly known as the Amazon Basin, heavy rainfall and high humidity are constant features. The vegetation of the Ecuadorian Amazon is exuberant as is its fauna. Within and around the huge protected areas of the Amazon Rain Forest several indigenous ethnic groups live side by side, still living traditionally, each group maintaining its distinct customs and traditions. The Ecuadorian Amazon region is made up of six provinces.

The Ecuadorian Andes are known worldwide for their impressive mountains, volcanoes, and snow-capped peaks, some of the most famous of which are Cotopaxi and Chimborazo.The ten Andean provinces are also home to cities and towns of historical interest and importance such as Quito and Cuenca and artisan centers such as Otavalo.

The area is also home to several national parks with an abundant variety of flora and fauna. Because of the diverse geography of the area, the Andes consists of a variety of landscapes, each one with a unique microclimate. Moreover, the area is a place visited by almost all visitors who come to Ecuador as Quito’s Mariscal Sucre International Airport is the nation’s most frequented entry point.

The country’s oldest archaeological ruins are to be found in this region. The area is also home to several villages full of handicrafts as well as to a variety of protected areas, national parks, and nature reserves. Cuenca, the capital of Azuay (one of the three provinces of the Southern region) stands out as a historical and cultural city. This part of the country is also known for its hot springs and the traditional medicines which are used here. The climate differs according to the altitude. However, in general, the weather here is relatively cool.

Ecuador is divided into 22 provinces

Province Capital
Azuay Cuenca
Bolivar Guaranda
Cañar Azogues
Carchi Tulcán
Chimborazo Riobamba
Cotopaxi Latacunga
El Oro Machala
Esmeraldas Esmeraldas
Galapagos Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
Guayas Guayaquil
Imbabura Ibarra
Loja Loja
Los Rios Babahoyo
Manabi Portoviejo
Morona-Santiago Macas
Napo Tena
Orellana Puerto Francisco de Orellana
Pastaza Puyo
Pichincha Quito
Sucumbios Nueva Loja
Tungurahua Ambato
Zamora-Chinchipe Zamora

Ecuador map


Azuay Ecuador

Next Ecuador page...
Azuay Ecuador

Last Modified 8/1/06 5:48 PM